Shropshire Jelly – Not what you think

Last week I tried the sensible networking business option, which I attend because I feel I should (and it wasn’t so terrible but… not my natural habitat).  This week I tried an “alternative” anti-networking option, and hey presto, had a lot more fun!

I went to Shropshire Jelly  🙂

We all agree, it’s a daft name but a great concept.  As a lone homeworker (ie me) it was a great opportunity to get out and spend time with actual live independent business people without the usual pressure of networking (er, selling oneself) as that sort of behavior just wasn’t on!

Fantastic atmosphere and excellent facilities at Enterprise HQ in Coalport (how nice everything was – very hot topic of discussion!).  We were brought together by the energy and insight of Jan Minihane.  Sending you many rounds of applause, Jan 🙂

I admit I throw myself into these things with some trepidation and (possibly) an unhealthy does of skepticism.  But I’m always up for trying something new. As soon as I arrived,  I’m glad I went.  If you spend all your time working on your own or directly with your clients, you forget that working in an office with others sometimes did have compensations.

A Jelly is a great opportunity to bring like-minded individuals together and creates a very conducive environment for collaboration.  Also (because sometime you forget how to be informal and slow down or even tone it down a bit) causally chatting to other traders about what you do, can help you regain focus and enable you to gain a new perspective.  Even finding out what they are working on (yes sometimes its OK for it to be about other people, how refreshing!), in a comfortable non-pressurized situation can renew your own creativity and sense of purpose.

As we all know, one thing leads to another.  While we were all busy working (and yes I got a lot more done than I excepted), we were of course keeping up with our social networking.  We were so enthusiastic about our new experiences, that Jelly trended in the UK and Twitter kept suffering from over capacity.  Hmmm, maybe the second part wasn’t necessarily us.

So from a quiet start in the coffee shops of New York 4 years ago, Jelly has come of age and is the new sensation hitting the independent business world in the UK.

So five out of five  and thumbs up for Jelly.  I hope to see you all again soon.

Light Fall – WOMAD 2009
“Vanity and pride are different things, though the words are often used synonymously. A person may be proud without being vain. Pride relates more to our opinion of ourselves, vanity to what we would have others think of us.”  
Jane Austen – Pride and Prejudice
One thought on “Shropshire Jelly – Not what you think

  1. I have never heard of this Jelly phenomenon before. I don't quite understand how you work while network with the other people in the room. But if you are getting something out of the process then that's all good. Go Jelly Go!

Comments are closed.